Fresh Perspectives

Today I’m grateful for fresh perspectives!

I started with a run this morning. If I’m going to be truthful about it, I really wanted an extra half an hour in bed. I was warm and comfy, but I had this little voice in the back of my head whispering like an insistent child. It was saying, “Get up and work, or get up and go for a run. Either way – get up!”

So, I got up and went. It was hard going – I’m living off chocolate and biscuits and all of the bad things that make crap days more bearable, so clearly I’m not at my fittest. 7km used to be my run limit and now 4.5km makes me feel like death.

Anyway, I decided to reverse my route and found it to be a good choice! My 4.5km run has the choice of either a long, slow climb, or a shorter and steeper hill depending on the side you approach from. I tend to do the latter but today I chose the slow climb. It wasn’t as bad as I expected and it was really nice to see the view gradually emerge. It’s a road I’ve travelled my whole life by car or bike but it’s pretty windy so you’re generally focused on where you’re going. However, my gentle pace gave me plenty of time to see the view creep over the horizon, and it almost felt like seeing it for the first time.

It’s been another long day at my desk but I’m glad that I made the effort to get out and start my day in the fresh air. It’s back to uni for me tomorrow and an early start, so I’m going to head off with my book for some down time before bed.

Hope you’ve all had a nice weekend and are feeling ready for the week ahead.

Day 10 Blog

Comments are shiny...

