Spring! – Weekly Photo Challenge

So this post comes in response to Spring! – the Weekly Photo Challenge from The Daily Post.

Multiple photo posts generally come with the added challenge of getting them to sit nicely beside each other, so if any of you have tips on how to win the battle, please post them below!

It’s a little hard to believe that it’s Spring here with the rain bucketing against the windows, but Spring it is! From the supremely green new leaves to the exciting vibrancy of flowers in bloom, it has arrived. We have been quite lucky lately on the rain front so when it started raining on my way home yesterday, it was quite surprising! I’ve always had a weird liking for the smell of rain on tarmac that hasn’t been rained on for a while, so I wound down my window a notch and let it waft in. Scrumptious. There’s nothing quite like Spring rain, nor the boost it gives the plants once it has left.

Here are my photo responses to the challenge…

DSC_02102014

I hate Dandelions – those awful yellow heads making a mess of your lawn, springing up in the middle of your lovely Forget-Me-Nots. They’re just a general eye-sore in my opinion. But I love the Dandelion clock. It’s a thing of beauty and every year I photograph these amazing seed heads in wonder. That, I suppose, is the silver lining! Literally!

IMG_01172014

The Primrose. How nature intended. Perfect in every way gaudy Primulas aren’t! We saw lots of these when we were down south, but this photo is actually from the year before and was taken in Trengwainton Garden. If you’re ever in that part of the world, visit for the gardens and especially for the cake. Best National Trust cake ever. Fact.

DSC_01642014

Ah, Lilac. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. I am always amazed at how quickly the Lilac comes and goes – from the sweet blooms of the first-flowering pale purple variety, to the delicate white and then this rich purple, how could you not love it? It reminds me every time of the passage from Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca. Incidentally an awesome read, for those of you who haven’t read it.

“The white alabaster vase in the drawing-room was always used for the lilac, Madam.”
“Oh, wouldn’t it be spoilt? It might get broken.”
“Mrs. de Winter always used the alabaster vase, Madam.”
“Oh, oh, I see.”
Then the alabaster vase was brought for me, already filled with water, and as I put the sweet lilac in the vase and arranged the sprigs, one by one, the mauve warm scent filling the room, mingling with the smell of the new-mown lawn outside coming from the open window, I thought: ‘Rebecca did this. She took the lilac, as I am doing, and put the sprigs one by one in the white vase…'”

DSC_01552014

And finally – Apple blossom. As you can see, I’m a flower-lover through and through and these delicate pale-pink blossoms never disappoint.

I hope you have enjoyed my take on Spring! Please feel free to comment with your own responses.

2 thoughts on “Spring! – Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Oh my gosh, such beautiful photos!! I’m a big fan of lilac too, especially freshly-cut and on the window sill *le sigh* It’s leading up to winter Down Under, so I’m frantically knitting, trying to come up with as many scarves and blankets as I can before the colder months 🙂 🙂

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you. 🙂 I’m glad you like them! There is something really lovely about cut lilac. Sadly it never lasts very long, does it? We’ve got a vase of it on our kitchen table but it’s getting a bit wilty now…

      I’m impressed that you can knit – I’m not a knitter but I think it’s very interesting to watch people in action! You should post photos of your finished products!

      Like

Comments are shiny...

