In the Summertime – Daily Prompt

I like the occasional dabble with the Daily Prompt posts from The Daily Post. 2 days ago, the topic was, In the Summertime and the prompt went as follows…

Theoretically, summer will return to the polar-vortex-battered Northern Hemisphere. What are you looking forward to doing this summer? If you’re in the Southern Hemisphere, what are your fondest memories of Summer past?

I did start this post on the actual day it was posted, but alas, life got in the way. You should be getting the gist of me by now and realising that, on the whole, I am often belated!

I know that I could have a list as long as my arm of things I’d like to do over the summer, but I’m going to try and be realistic and just going to look at a handful of wishes!

  1. Read more.
    I love reading and the summer always seems to lend itself to reading and relaxation. At some point every year I re-read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, which is one of my all-time favourites and my Classic of choice. I also unashamedly re-read all of the Harry Potter books by J.K Rowling. This summer I’d like to re-read Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy and The Lord of the Rings trilogy by Tolkien. Optimistic, I know, but I’ll see how I get on!
  2. Adventure!
    I’m really not much of an explorer. I don’t have the travel bug, I don’t want to climb Kilimanjaro, see kangaroos, or go on safari… I’m definitely a bit boring in that respect. But I do love England and I am always keen to see more of it. We’re off to Cornwall in a few weeks, but I also fancy seeing the Lake District and somewhere scrummy and forest-y, like Dartmoor or The New Forest. So a bit of adventuring, walking, biking…fun things like that, if you please.
  3. Rock climb on real rock.
    We started doing some indoor rock climbing in the Autumn of 2013 but, as ever, we were too busy to get into a routine of going. Hopefully we’ll be able to do some more in the coming months and then maybe get on some actual not-too-scary-thank-you-please rock. That would be good!
  4. Go to the Harry Potter Warner Bros. Studio Tour in London.
    It costs a bomb to get in, so I’m not sure if this will happen, but I’d really love to go! Friends of mine have been and posted photos and being such a massive HP fan I am desperate to see it for myself! So that’s a bit of a wish and a maybe.
  5. Take lots of photos.
    I love photography and find taking photos really therapeutic. I got a new camera for Christmas since my old one was dying a death, so I’m really looking forward to taking some pictures of lovely places and people and flowers and things. Mmm, happy-sigh…

So those are just a few things that I’m looking forward to possibly doing over the summer. Surprises are always nice too, so I’ll just have to see what happens. ^_^

Comments are shiny...

